Spa Grand Prix

History: Grand Prix of Spa-Francorchamps

Creation of a circuit linking Spa-Francorchamps, Malmedy and Stavelot by Jules de Thier, owner of the Liège newspaper “La Meuse” with Baron Joseph de Crawhez (burgomaster of Spa) and the racing driver Henri Langlois van Ophem, to revive the La Meuse Cup in the aftermath of the 1914-1918 war. The circuit was then 15.820 km long and used public roads that were normally open to traffic.

First Grand Prix automobile of Spa- Francorchamps in August. Called the Grand Prix of Belgium, this was an endurance race for sports cars..The Impéria-Abadal of Tornaco-Bruyère won with an average speed of 88.900 km/hr.

Organisation of the Grand Prix of Europe on the Spa-Francorchamps circuit on 28 June 1925.Antonio Ascari won with Alfa Romeo.

Creation of the Raidillon cornerThe “Ancienne Douane” corner, getting its name from the former Belgian-German Customs post at this location, is eliminated and replaced by the Raidillon corner. Construction of the Raidillon contributed to the circuit’s international reputation.It’s a corner on a steep 17% slope that quickly becomes the most exciting in the calendar.

Resumption of races after the second world war with the Grand Prix of Belgium on 29 June 1947 on the Spa-Francorchamps circuit after a 7 year gap.The winner was Jean-Pierre Wimille with Alfa Romeo.

Organisation of the first Formula 1 Grand Prix.

The first Belgian Formula 1 Grand Prix took place on 18 June 1950 and was the fifth event of the very first world championship of Formula 1. It was won by Juan Manuel Fangio.

Spa-Francorchamps is one of the only circuits of the first world championship that still features in the calendar 70 years later.

The track was widened from 6m to 9m with the creation of the Stavelot corner.Several modifications were made to this stadium; the Malmedy chicane was once again bypassed and, in order to keep the circuit in the town of Stavelot, a new wide banked corner was constructed in this town.

Last Belgian Formula 1 Grand Prix on the big track that will be modified in 1983. The winner was Pedro Rodriguez with a average speed of 241 km/hr.

Moving the Belgian Formula 1 Grand Prix onto different circuits in Belgium notably at Nivelles and Zolder.

Return of the Belgian Formula 1 Grand Prix of Spa-Francorchamps.Removal of the circuit’s most dangerous section, and creation of a new section between Les Combes and Blanchimont. The track is thus shortened to 6.947 km. Several corners make their appearance, including Pouhon.

The circuit becomes semi-permanent and traffic is prohibited there from March to October. Then, very quickly, it becomes permanent with an annual operational duration of 220 days.The Belgian Formula 1 Grand Prix is cancelled following the ban on tobacco advertising.

Work on layout of the pits, the Source corner and the Masta Chicane (Bus Stop) to conform with the new FIA standards. The circuit then becomes the longest track in the calendar with 7.004 kilometres.The Belgian Formula 1 Grand Prix does not take place this year, so that works can be completed.

Since 2007, the Circuit of Spa-Francorchamps has been hosting the Belgian Formula 1 Grand Prix every year. It is one of the legendary Grand Prix thanks to its spectacular track and every driver dreams of winning on it at least once in their career.